What's New?

Nominees For Sweet Adeline Of The Year

The award for Sweet Adeline of the Year is given to the Sweet Adeline who, during the calendar year, has exemplified the ideal qualities of a Sweet Adelines member through their leadership, successes, progress, and dedication to the organization, their chorus, and/or the artform of barbershop music.










The nominees are:




Mary RheaMary Rhea

Mary took the reins of O.K. City chorus in 2009, a year in which she won a crown with Zing!, and the chorus has been gaining steam ever since. In Denver last year, They missed the top ten by just two points. This spring they scored 664 and earned the highest Wild Card score in the organization. It was the 6th overall highest score of all competing regional choruses in 2013. Also in March her new quartet, Rio!, won the Region 25 contest and then placed 14th in Hawaii, securing a spot in next year’s quartet contest. As a former member of Gem City, Greater Harrisburg, Pacific Sound, and Pride of Baltimore choruses, her experience is leading O.K. City to a very bright future. We’ll see what lies ahead in Baltimore for Mary Rhea.


Britt-Helene Bonnedahl Britt-Helene Bonnedahl

After years of coming very close to gold (never finishing lower than sixth at intl.) Rönninge broke most every scoring record this fall and were finally dubbed SAI champions. Bonnedahl has been with Rönninge since the beginning and has led them to the position of being the premier non-North American chorus. It’s hard to imagine a director having a better year than Bonnedahl in 2013.




Mo FieldMo Field

What can you say about Stockholm City Voices that isn’t an understatement? They have 40-50 women whose sound fills an arena as if there were 90 onstage. They sound like the Rich-Tones, score like Song of Atlanta, place like Toast of Tampa, test the boundaries like Ronninge, but inspire like no other chorus has done before. They have made the top ten in the last two international contests scoring in the 2600s and leaving everyone wanting more SCV. On top of that, they were featured in a Swedish commercial this year. Mo Field is the reason for this success. She is the prototypical director of the future in the SAI world and the SAI world is getting to know and love her more and more with each passing accomplishment.


Sharon Babb

Sharon Babb

Sharon Babb was this year’s recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award from Sweet Adelines International.

Babb has been a Sweet Adeline since 1969. She is an International Championship Chorus Director (High Country Chorus–1987) and has directed choruses of all sizes (2 large, 1 medium and 1 small): High Country, Mt. Melody, Skyline, and Colorado Spirit choruses. She is a current International Board member, Certified sound judge, music judge and music specialist, Master International Faculty, coach and novice arranger. Sharon has served in many chapter and regional capacities.


  1. Sharon Babb deserves this award

  2. Cindy Gilmore

    Sharon Babb!

  3. Karina Bellbrant

    Mo Field is the best!!!

  4. Carin Ländström

    I vote for Britt-Helen Bonnedahl

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *