What's New?

Nominees for 2014 Director of the Year – Barbie Awards

Director of the Year Barbie Award


The Director of the Year award goes to the chorus director who experienced the most success, improvement, and/or did the most to advance the art of barbershop and the SAI organization.

The 2014 Director of the Year nominees are:


1. Jim Arns – Melodeers ChorusJim Arns

Jim has once again proven that the chorus to beat in the Sweet Adelines world is the Melodeers. With their seventh gold medal in Baltimore, they have now lost just one contest (at any level) in over 20 years. They set new records for highest scoring ballad and uptune this year, and now own the second and third highest international chorus scores of all time.




2. Kim Wonders – Metro Nashville ChorusKW8255_color licensed for marketing crop and comp

In the spring of 2013, Kim directed Metro Nashville to regional gold with a score of 664, a record for MNC, which earned them a trip to international where, for the first time, they placed in the top-ten. Leading Metro Nashville for over 25 years, Kim has won three Harmony Classic gold medals and now looks to be joining the big names in the organization after finishing 7th in Baltimore. They earned 79 of the 80 possible bonus points – more than any other chorus.



Ryan Heller

3. Ryan Heller – Pride of Portland Chorus

After scoring 701 at the regional level in 2013 (17th highest score of all time), Heller led PoP to a fourth place finish in Baltimore with their highest ever score (2945 – 22nd highest intl. score of all time).




4. June Dale – North Metro ChorusJune Dale

After leading North Metro to their first international gold medal in a decade in 2012, Dale followed it up with a 2014 regional score of 751 points – tied for the highest regional chorus score in history. This is the SIXTH time the chorus has scored over 700 at regionals, leaving no doubt that North Metro is back to their gold medal winning ways.




5. John Stockstill – Springfield Metro Chorus

John StockstillWhile maybe not being as much a household name as the other nominees, Stockstill has taken this new chorus from scoring 468 in their first contest in 2011 to 535 in 2012, 569 in 2013 and 577 this spring. He led them to the Harmony Classic and promptly won gold. If you don’t know him now, you soon will.



The Barbie Award nominees and winners are chosen exclusively by BarbershopHistory.com readers – thousands of barbershoppers from around the globe.

To vote, use this email address: director@barbershophistory.com

Simply write in your choice and I’ll tally the votes. Votes will be accepted until midnight, January 5th, 2015 CST. Winners will be announced on Monday, January 5th. (Email addresses will NOT be saved or used for any purpose. All emails will be deleted once the contest is over.)

The Barbie Awards are not sanctioned or sponsored by or affiliated with Sweet Adelines International.


  1. How are nominees chosen? Just curious. Some of my favorites are overlooked.

    • Benjamin Edwards

      Sandi, during the week between Christmas and New Years, readers email me their choices for who they think should be considered for the awards. At the end of the week, I tabulate the nominations and the top vote-getters become the official nominees. Some of my favorites are overlooked as well 😉

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *